The ultimate travel guide to Yogyakarta

Yogyakarta is also pronounced and written as Jogjakarta or Jogja, the capital of Special Region of Yogyakarta province, part of Central Java, Indonesia. Not to confuse with the central java province which has Semarang as its capital city.


It is a lively city populated by about half a million people and the most popular tourist destination in Java, especially those who want to visit the majestic Borobudur and Prambanan temples.

This lovely city is an arts and education center, offering some nice shopping and has a wide range of tourist facilities.

Sultan Hamengku Buwono has ruled the region since 1755 and steered the country through the difficult times of occupation and revolution.

The Sultan of Yogyakarta is appointed as governor of Yogyakarta Special Region by the national government directly; the only governor in Indonesia that is not elected directly by the people.

The Indonesian central government has tried to weaken the sultan’s power by calling for direct election for the governor, however the present Sultan Hamengkubuwono X was chosen by an overwhelming majority.

Yogyakarta is also located in one of the most seismically active parts of Java and is therefore repeatedly hit by the earthquakes and volcanic eruptions. The latest worst one was on 27 May 2006, which killed more than 6,000 people and destroyed over 300,000 homes.

Just four years later, in October 2010, a nearby volcano erupted, spewing lava in nearby villages, Cangkringan and killing 353 people. After rumbling and shutting down for two months, the volcano was deserted in December 2010. The area is now a tourist spot to explore areas damaged by the eruption. Locals have been evacuated to new safe locations, and their activities are only during the day for tourists and ‘sand collectors’.

Yogyakarta consists of the following five districts:

1. Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta – which also the capital of the province

2. Sleman – located on the north side, it is on the slopes of the impassioned Mount Merapi to the North

3. Bantul – located on the south, the coastline area

4. Gunung Kidul the hillside on the east ,

5. Kulon Progo – the lowlands on the West

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply